Still kickin'...

...and bitchin' and gripin' and fussin' and cussin'...you get the picture. :)

Loki, I am in this current court term with junkmel. It's been smooth (meaning no trials) so far, but I have a feeling this week will change all that. This will be speedy trial week.

It seems that for a couple of terms in this county, the defendants have been filing A LOT of motions on their own, pro se, even though they're represented by lawyers. It was determined that someone at the jail was helping these defendants write all these motions, speedy trial motions being one of them.

During one of junkmel's judge's guilty pleas, the defendant told him who helped him file his pro se motions. It was a defendant that junkmel did a trial on the term before. Needless to say, THAT person has been moved on to greener pastures in the penal housing department. I hope that stops all these frivolous motions we've had to deal with lately.

* * * * * * *

It has been extremely dull around here. My face has been staring at a computer screen most of the time doing appeals.

WW is failing miserably in this house. I've been pretending to be on vacation for, let's see, since about December 5, 2007. And it's showing!! Tomorrow night is weigh-in, and I think I've lost a couple, but I can't count that since I've put on some since joining. How pitifully sad is that!! Got to get a grip!

Have a good one, Girls!

0 comments so far

Previously & Coming Up