A two-day week...I can handle that

I'm about to begin the last week of this court term. Words cannot explain how excited I am, especially thinking/knowing that I'll only have to be down there two days at the most. I'm keeping my fingers crossed that I haven't just jinxed myself!! You may do the same. :)

It started off to be a busy term which as I'm finding out only seems to happen when it's my turn to work down there!! (Insert wah-wahs here.) The second week threatened to be even worse than the first one, but then the heavens opened up and my guardian angels somehow persuaded the people involved to change their plans, and the week slacked up considerably!! Perhaps it was the other people's guardian angels looking out for them...hmmmmm. Either way, I was thrilled!!

The only thing I'm dreading today is the jury qualification. This week brings our other judge down there (junkmel's primary judge), and he does the jury WAY different. He lets them come to the bench and whisper why they want to be excused or why they're not qualified. The judge says he does it that way so they won't be embarassed if they're a convicted felon or they can't read or write.

I so bad want to point out the obvious to him...if you've just asked the question "Can everyone read and write and did each of you fill out one of the forms this morning" and you have people raise their hands and you bring them to the bench, don't you think all those other jurors KNOW that those people can't read and write????? If they can't, I thank my lucky stars I'm not a defendant looking for 12 of my peers in that jury pool!!!

Have a good one, Girls!!

0 comments so far

Previously & Coming Up