Communication skills needed...quick!!

You would think with a day off from court in the worst county we have I would be in a better mood. I'm not. I'm finding out that I'm not as perfect in this marriage thing as I thought I was...horrors.

BZ and I have some issues as far as communication goes. We've known about them for a while, but neither seems to try and adjust. Here's an example:

Last night our bedroom TV just quits. I go get a small TV and BZ gets up and hooks it up...we're good to go. This morning, we turn the small TV on and the big one turns on, too. Freaky, but it did and there's the picture but no sound. I get the control for the surround sound system and I'm trying to power it up but not having much luck. He asks what I'm doing and I tell him I'm trying to turn on the surround sound. He starts freaking out thinking I'm messing with the TV which also has surround sound. I keep telling him and pointing to the separate system. Then it hits him what I'm doing, but by that time I'm pissed because he can't understand my plain English!!!

This morning as we discuss it, he tells me that when I ask him something, he automatically goes into "fix it" frame of mind...starts trying to figure out whatever it is I'm talking about without listening to me completely. This will bring on questions by him that have NOTHING to do with what I asked, which gets me frustrated thinking he wasn't listening. He'll eventually HEAR me and repeat the first thing I said to get the conversation going and I finally get an answer. But by then, I'm so fucking mad, I can't see straight!!!

I have simplified my questions/problems for him in hopes that we don't have to go through ten questions to get back to my original statement, but that doesn't seem to be working either. He's pointed out to me that he doesn't like my reaction to his questioning.

So it all comes down to I have to have patience (which I KNOW I don't possess a lot of) when talking with my husband, a man who has a master's degree in engineering. If I can't find enough patience to be able to communicate with my husband, I guess I'll have to start wearing a chalkboard around my neck and write everything out for him.

He's going to force me to double up on my BP medication!!!

Have a good one, Girls!

PS His company picnic was this afternoon. As you can tell, I'm not there. This is where I KNOW I have a problem.

I got the feeling he didn't want me there. He tells me he thought he was doing me a favor by not asking me to come with him; that he thought he would sound selfish by asking me to come with him. As I told him, that's what marriage is sometimes...wanting your spouse with you for comfort even though the spouse really doesn't want to be there. I guess I'm being selfish when I make him go to my mom's on Sundays for lunch. I hope my hormones realign SOON!!!

0 comments so far

Previously & Coming Up