children + me = insanity

I realize boys will be boys, kids will be kids, but I swear, do they not have ANY sense??

The boys had been riding the go-kart. They've always been extremely careful...helmuts, gloves, seatbelts. I've watched them..the oldest drives and is not a speed demon. He looks both ways before getting out on the neighborhood road...and then both ways again and again and again. Really.

Imagine my shock and horror as I look out the office window to see the youngest trying to get back in the go-kart and yelling while oldest hits the gas to move forward just enough out of his reach. Youngest then jumps in and oldest takes off WITHOUT SEATBELTS!!

I ran my fat ass out the backdoor, across the yard to stop them. They both jump out like it was on fire. :) I began asking rational questions...What are you doing? Why don't you have your seatbelts on? Don't you know how dangerous that is?? Unfortunately I get childish answers back. We were just playing. I kept thinking thank God you're not hurt, but dammit I want to hurt you now!!!

I didn't. I just banned the go-kart and made them push it into the storage building. They pushed and pulled and turned the wheel and pulled and heaved and straddled an ant mound and they finally got it inside.

During all that, youngest had the audacity to look at oldest and smile that shit-eatin' grin smile of his. OH.MY.GOD. Lit me up all over again. I felt like a drill sergeant getting in a soldier's face. I tried not to spit on him.

Youngest does that ALL the time. I realize he doesn't understand the 'what-ifs' at his age, but I'm trying to get it across to him that not everything is funny. He thinks differently. That drives me insane.

Have a good one, Girls!

0 comments so far

Previously & Coming Up