Learning experiences

We're a week and a half into the visit and really no MAJOR meltdowns here. I did have a small one yesterday trying to get the boys to get dressed so we could go downtown. Yes, they finally got dressed. I'm learning the end result is all that matters, not what happened in between. It's just that the in between is what makes my blood boil. Thank goodness for meds!!!

We ventured downtown yesterday to a place where you can paint pottery. We had a really good time and stepson1 did a very good job on a box. He painted it in the camo theme. Stepson2 painted a skateboard. I'm scared to see that one. :) Me? I painted a bowl that will probably look like stepson2 painted it...and that will probably be my story that I'll stick to!! We'll see the results in about a week.

There was a woman there with five children and another one on the way. They were all very well-behaved kids until close to the end and then the youngest ones were just tired and wanting to go home. She overheard us talking about school in session here with the buses outside and asked where we were from. I told her the kids are from Canada. She said she homeschooled hers. Damn. I wish I had just an ounce of her patience. I also saw them drive away. She was driving what looked to be one of those short tour buses but this one was brown and had very dark tinted windows. All it was really missing was UPS on the side. But still, I could go for one of those!!

We're leaving Sunday for a week in Tennessee. I need that woman's van. We will be busting out of the SUV trying to get our stuff up there. Of course, we'll want to take this house to that house, the contents, and that's totally impossible. But we'll want to. I'm looking so forward to next week. BZ will be there 24/7 for seven days. :) I'll be looking for the hardest-to-find spot in that house and making it mine!

Stepson1 lost a tooth Sunday. The tooth fairy finally showed up Tuesday. There were attempts made, but stepson2 kept waking up! SS1 got $5...American. He was a little disappointed that it was American and not Canadian money, and then he tells me you can't buy anything for $5 in Canada. I told him well, you can here and we're going to find it. Canadians may be nice, but they're not always positive!!

My brother's youngest son broke his collarbone yesterday on a motorcycle accident. From what my sister told me, he was going to ride it up the skateboard ramp but forgot to pull up on the handlebar to make it "jump." He instead toppled over the top of it and landed on his shoulder. Ouch. I'm told he's fine and wearing a brace. Bet he never gets back on that dirtbike! Meanwhile these two were like two old women in a beauty parlor...they were hanging on my every word and repeating it to each other. :) Can't wait to hear what they tell their mom when she calls.

Have a good one, Girls!!

0 comments so far

Previously & Coming Up