Call me Rip Van Winkle

Other than going and getting my hair colored and cut and seeing the accountant on Monday, I haven't left this house ALL week. Damn. My thumbs are sore, and my fingernails are jagged. All I've done is bead. I bought some beads. I've strung some beads. Bought more beads. Looked at beads. Looked at jewelry for inspiration. Bought some more beads. Strung some more. Wired some beads. I'm close to being beaded out. And that's a good thing since I have a 400+ page appeal due April 10 and haven't done squat on it!!

I have thoroughly enjoyed my time off, and luckily I have one more week to enjoy. Junkmel's kept me up-to-date on the courthouse gossip. I don't miss any of those people so far. By the end of another week in seclusion, I'll be hugging them and never leaving their sides during the court term.

A friend who's big in the court reporter's association emailed the other day asking if junkmel and I would donate a piece or some jewelry for either a door prize and/or the silent auction. We are more than willing to do that and even talked about it in the past, but we have the same reservation. While we LOVE every piece of jewelry we make, it's quite obvious to us that not everybody else does. I know, horrors!

We know what WE like, but we don't know about the other person. And trying to select some jewelry that says "wow" is really hard to do!! For example, I have one necklace that is screaming WOW right now. It's all crystals of blues with a capiz shell pendant of a rich ocean blue. GORGEOUS!! But what if the person who wins our door prize hates blue? See? Or what if they wear only gold and everything I make is silver? Or what if they hate the length of everything in the bag? See? We have such problems. :)

I've emailed my friend back and told her of course we'll do it, and we'll do both...donate some jewelry and have stuff for the silent auction. I then asked her if I could bring Christmas gifts that have never been opened and will never be opened. :) I have a lovely panini grill and a back massager that will never see the light of day in this household. I'm thinking SOMEBODY will pay at least $5 for them. I told her I wouldn't bring all my yard sale stuff, but there could be more!! :) She hasn't responded back. Imagine that.

Have a good one, Girls!!

0 comments so far

Previously & Coming Up