10,000 steps and a visit from Goldilocks

I just got back from an unexpected exercise jaunt. Molson decided to venture out into the neighborhood to visit some of his friends. He's been really, really good about staying in the yard. I guess we're all due a slip-up here and there. I saw him and yelled and clapped, but that was not strong enough to lure him away from the other dogs. So off I go carrying my big ass through our backyard, into the neighbor's and along the ditch (which stinks to high heaven!!) calling Molson's name and finally getting his attention. He came galloping at me like he hasn't seen me in weeks! Makes my heart melt...as long as I can sidestep him at juuuuuust the right moment so he doesn't bowl me over!!

I decided to take the high road back to the house with him and "Rabbits" and a poor mama dog that even I outwalked. I checked on her several times while walking and thought that's what I think I look like walking...everything hanging, spit dangling from her mouth, and extremely slow.

We did cut through our front yard and as I came up on our patio, I noticed fresh wet paw prints. I then realized I had left the back door open. Molson's food bowl was empty and here came Patches (huge golden retriever) from our bedroom with one of Molson's toys hanging out his mouth. I got that from him and shoved him out and pulled Molson in and slammed the door. Shit! I went through the house making sure Patches didn't leave us anything and cussing myself for leaving the door open. Molson was all excited to see another dog in here. He's now laying behind me licking and slurping to his heart's content. I'm still gasping for air.

Have a good one, Girls!

1 comments so far

m-lewis - 2007-03-15 08:34:12
Molson? I met a lady at the vet's office the other day whose dog was named Huff -- a huge, loveable mutt. It seems Huff can jump tall fences in a single bound. That's why they were at the vet's office;Huff injured himself jumping a fence.
-------------------------------

Previously & Coming Up