Grin and bear it....but on the inside I'll be in the corner banging my head

Can I revert back to 1969 when I was four and stomp my feet, put my hands on my hips and say I don't wanna go!!??!?? Two weeks of court and I'm sick of it already. Oh, and lucky me, they've extended this god-forsaken term another week!!! We were able to slide out of last week without a trial, but I don't think we'll be so lucky this week. Everyone has been in a foul mood these past two weeks. I don't know what's going on, but this term will not get my vote for favorite.

*******

Our civil trial the first week was a first. In a civil case, only nine out of the 12 jurors have to agree on a verdict. When our jury returned with a verdict, it was in favor of the doctor with a polling of the jury showing eight to four. Back they went. At 6:45 p.m. on that Friday evening, they came back out in favor of the plaintiff with $50,000 in damages, nine to four. Do ya think they really gave a damn?? Some of them had already gotten their checks at lunch and they were ready to LEAVE! One of them had made a comment as they were coming back into the courtroom..."we'll be outta here by four, right? There's a happy hour somewhere." I hope to never be a party in a lawsuit.

*******

The semi-annual court reporter seminar is coming up in April. Junkmel and I will be trying to pass off our old stuff like it's brand new. Neither one of us has had the time or the inkling to make anything new. I have a feeling March will be a different story.

Have a good one, Girls!!

0 comments so far

Previously & Coming Up