An update to be updating

There really is not much new around here. Junkmel and I made it through a two-week term. I had two trials that clogged up our docket. We took a whopping six guilty pleas for the term. Normally we do about 30 to 40. My truck battery died on the Monday of the second week. I called my judge and he was walking the halls trying to find someone to come get me. Evidently he's about the only one there at 8:15 in the morning.

The other court reporter and I will start a three-week term next Monday. Joy. I'm forcing myself to stay in this chair and work on an appeal that's due Friday. I'm 44 pages into 238. I know I can do it, but it's the "want" factor that's hurting so bad. I.DON'T.WANT.TO. In my head also is why drive over Friday to deliver when I'll be there Monday, but the clerks will KILL me if I drop it on them the first day of a term so why not just wait until Tuesday or Wednesday or Thursday...I've got a 14-day window before the supreme court starts writing horrible fan mail. :) I'm shooting for 60 pages a day so it will at least be edited. Then I'll deal with the clerks and supreme court.

******************

I nibbled my way through this past weekend. We had dips and chips and chocolate and junk and junk and junk, and damn, was it good!! I'm finding I prefer just a bite or two of lots of stuff. I don't want the whole thing or just one thing. I want lots of little things. Unfortunately those little things add up, too. I'm back to water and yogurt.

You're in my thoughts and prayers, Lizzzy!!

Have a good one, Girls!!

1 comments so far

m-lewis - 2007-02-06 17:57:34
Hi. I'm one of Junkmel's diaryland regulars. I guess, all this time as she's gone on and on about you, I never realized you were also an official court reporter -- until now. I am too. In the fourteenth judicial district of Arkansas. Just wanted to sympathize with your appeal process. I'm in the process of finishing one -- the clerk is already complaining. After this, I'm done for a while (I hope). We don't have "terms" up here. We have court almost every day, except Friday, which is usually my free day. Tell Melanie that at least I can read your page without having to cut and paste it to my Word Perfect program. HA!
-------------------------------

Previously & Coming Up