Two down, one to go

We've had a very nice Christmas around here, but we're not done yet. It started Saturday night with Christmas at my dad's. My dad always left the gift-buying to my mom. Since they've divorced, he's left it up to her*. She obviously doesn't know my sister, my sister-in-law, nor me. I know it's the thought that counts. Trust me, I really truly do know that. BUT...last year she gave us each a set of painted wine glasses. When I finally decided to do something with mine, i.e., give them to the thrift store, I discovered mine were all broken. No sweat...it's just as easy to throw them away as haul them away.

This year, we all got another set of painted wine glasses, a hand and bath towel set that was embroidered with "hers" (we all thought there would be a "his" somewhere, but nope), and a glass nativity scene.

We go around the room opening a gift, and since all us girls had the same shape/paper-wrapped gifts, I started plotting what to open. My sister picked one, the nativity scene. I thought, okay, don't need to open that one. I encouraged my sister-in-law to open a different shape and it was the wine glasses. Okay, don't need to open that one. I opened the towels. I thought, okay, done; let's go home. We went through the motions and did the oooooing and ahhhhhing and did get some good laughs from it all. My dad made the comment that she does all her Christmas shopping the day after Christmas. He really didn't even have to voice that since it was quite apparent from the gifts. There will be some regifting going on one of these years!!

Sunday, BZ and I drove over to my hometown and attended the candlelight service and then went back to my mom's for dinner. I had cooked red beans and rice and we had all kinds of finger foods. Junkmel and her family came over and she made the best damn meat and cheese sandwiches...crustless and cut in triangles. As simple as they were, none of us could stop eating them!! My brother packaged them up and took them home with him...what was left at least.

Monday morning, BZ and I once again drove over to hometown...if you're counting, it's trip number three...for Christmas at my mom's. I called sister and brother at 5:15 a.m. informing them we were on our way; they had 45 minutes to get up and get to Mom's. They both live about five minutes from her. We got there at six. They all arrived about 20 minutes later.

We had a real good time and got some really nice stuff. But to be fair, we all got some unnecessary stuff, too. Bless my mother's heart, she LOVES giving and really goes overboard. BZ got a second wine opener, the really easy kind which we love the one she gave us last year. We really don't need a second one though. I guess she thinks we drink THAT much wine that we need one in every room maybe?? My favorite gift is a Ver@ Br@dley hipster purse. LOVE.IT.

*****************

BZ is in his hometown visiting with his parents and sister. He'll fly home tomorrow with the boys. We'll celebrate our Christmas with them. They'll have a little scavenger hunt for their big gift...a go-kart. I can't wait to see and hear their reaction to that. Unfortunately, we've had the usual "Mississippi snow" here...about an inch of rain total. Everything is sloppy wet which should make for some fun mud riding on that go-kart. BZ will need both those wine openers to calm himself from the destruction of his yard. But as I say, it's just grass...it'll grow back!

Hope you all had a very Merry Christmas and have a wonderful and safe New Year's!!

Have a good one, Girls!


* Her/she is his wife. She's not a stepmother to me and I figured her/she is better than what I used to call her and occasionally still do...The Bitch.

0 comments so far

Previously & Coming Up