I hate politics

Yesterday morning, I jumped out of bed earlier than normal to check the election results. When I went to bed the night before, it looked as if we were going to have a new judge. The first set of results I found were in favor of our judge. The next set with more boxes counted were for the opponent. SHIT!!

Junkmel called and we tried to figure it out along with what kind of job we would be seeking come January. One television station reported that our judge had won, but we all know they can be wrong. I finally called the other judge and he confirmed that we would be employed for another four years. Yeah!! We are "appointed" for four years. If a new judge gets elected and has someone else in mind as a court reporter, he can bring them in and we're gone. It rarely happens, but I have known it to happen. Quite sucky.

The most interesting tidbit about this election was not the mudslinging done right before it or how close the race was, but the fact that I think our newspaper carrier has GOT to be an opponent supporter.

We have a very large re-elect sign in our yard. I'm talking dig-the-holes-and-stand-her-up-Earl kind of sign. Our newspaper subscription ran out the middle of October, and we have not gotten one since then. Wednesday morning, day after the election, BZ comes in saying we had a newspaper on the drive. The first headline on the paper is Opponent Leads Tight Race in Circuit Race. We did not have a paper this morning. Ain't no doubt in my mind.

Have a good one, Girls!

0 comments so far

Previously & Coming Up