We're back!

Year two at the races was very different. For one, all the cars brought the right kind of tires and raced this time. But most importantly, I realized I don't have to do everything BZ and the boys did!! For three mornings, I dropped them off at the racetrack and I went shopping!! :) I have learned my way around Indy...at least the outside circle of it. I only ventured through downtown once and that was by mistake...BIG MISTAKE...and luckily was able to get myself back to the northside of the city.

It was really nice being able to go where I wanted, do what I wanted, EAT what I wanted when I wanted to. I made it to three bead stores and several clothing stores, craft stores, pet stores. The only places I didn't make it was to Crate & Barrel and Pottery Barn. It's probably for the best because I KNOW I would have spent way too much money on things that I really didn't need. But I hate that I missed the browsing.

One afternoon after picking everybody up, we drove up to Zionsville. What a neat little town!! I could retire there. It almost looked like a movie set of an all-American town. Neat little shops. If you're ever in the area, check it out. It's not far from Indy and will make you wish you lived there.

On Sunday, race day, we all went to the race. After about a mile of walking to the speedway, I was wishing I had stayed in the van. Hot, oh my God, it was hot!! Crowded, oh my God, it was crowded!! I made it to our seats and plopped my fanny down and didn't move until after lap 40 of 73. Youngest stepson and I decided we'd go to the van and wait on the others. BZ and oldest stepson weren't too far behind us. We were able to get out of there before all the crowd and on the road.

I commented to BZ that I think if we go back next year, I'll do the day of qualifying...less people and can sit wherever you want to(under grandstands in shade!!!). I find the race itself pretty boring after the cars are out of view. I'd prefer to watch it on TV. :) That will change my shopping days, but that's okay!!

Have a good one, Girls!

0 comments so far

Previously & Coming Up