Papa was a rolling stone and I think I'm one, too

Rolling stone only in the sense of a moving kidney stone...I think and hope!

Last Tuesday when I left work for home, I started having what I thought was instestinal pain that would turn into the stomach bug. I hurt all night but it stopped the next day. Nothing ever came of the stomach bug or what I thought should have come from it. Junkmel even suggested that it was a painful ovulation. Timing wise that would have worked, too. I was satisfied with either one and went about my days of work and woe.

Saturday morning though, all was not right. My morning ritual showed that all was not right. I had A LOT of blood in my urine. Let me sidetrack a bit here, if I may. Whenever anyone in my family has been ill/hospitalized/recuperated, I've been pretty good to be there and do whatever needs to be done to help them and never batted an eye, never got weak in the knees, stomach never turned, none of that stuff. I'm not saying nursing should have been my profession. I'm saying I can do it for the ones I love and that's about it. I've never had a serious illness/breakage/hospitalization. It's all new to me. When I saw the blood, I got extremely nervous and emotional and scared shitless!!! I tried acting like I had control, but on the inside I was losing it!! BZ finally realized something wasn't right with me emotionally and said he would go to the doctor with me. I hated for him to screw up his Saturday, but I was so very thankful that he did. The drive over helped my nerves and to get my mind off of the worst possible scenario that I had already built up in my head. Yes, I can be quite imaginary when I want to be.

While sitting in the examination room waiting, I overheard the doctor next door explain to the man that his foot pain was possibly plantar facitis (sp?) or something else which I missed because the nurses were too loud in the hall, dammit! I wanted to step next door and offer my advice for stretching and arch supports and all that fun stuff. He's in for a world of hurt if it really is PF. He also has a heal spur. Ouch. Love thin walls, don't you?

The doctor I saw was great. Very comforting and just plain nice. He's leaning heavy towards a kidney stone for me. I have a pretty good infection that's possibly causing the blood and I'm now medicated for that. If I don't see improvement by Monday though, he wants to set up a CAT scan for me. In the meantime, I'm to drink buckets of water to flush out the system. My mom asked if I had the garden hose strapped to my side. :)

My dad and sister both have histories of stones. My sister is full of them. I was hoping this little family trait would skip me.

So far, things are improving. They're aren't clear, but obviously the antibiotics are working. I'm saying little prayers that tomorrow will not force me to make a phone call to the doctor to set up a CAT scan. I'd prefer my inner strength be tested another way, please.

Have a good one, Girls!

1 comments so far

pattypat - 2006-05-22 08:06:43
I'm thinking healing thoughts for you! Hang in there.
-------------------------------

Previously & Coming Up