Needed: One sturdy pair of horse blinders for BZ

I made two trips over to a neighboring town yesterday. The first one was to drop off an appeal and deliver some jewelry to my nephew(10 yrs.old) to give to his girlfriend for Valentine's Day. The second was later that evening to watch said nephew play basketball. The game was really good even if they did lose. Nephew was worried that he had given me the wrong directions and wanted to call to make sure I knew where to go, but his grandmother didn't have my number. So thankful I didn't sit on my ass and not go! It's easy to forget how excited they are that someone besides parents show up to watch them.

The first trip, Molson rode with me and we each had a McD's hamburger for lunch on the way back. He loves french fries, but I only had two bucks so it was a cheap lunch for both of us. :) After the ballgame, I again went through McD's and got another cheap burger but with fries this time. I robbed some of BZ's money. :) I'm paying for that theft. Something tore my stomach UP!! I'll be laying off McD's for a long while.

BZ has two bad habits that absolutely drive me insane. One is shhh'ing me while he's watching something on TV. Drives.Me.Nuts. I immediately tell him do NOT shhh me and then keep talking to where he has to pause it and pay attention to me. As I've told him, I do not talk incessantly when I talk with him because of his second bad habit. He loses focus/attention QUICKLY when I'm talking.

Yesterday I was able to use one of his bad habits back on him. I was watching Oprah with Tim McGraw and Faith Hill. He comes in from work and starts saying something and I shh'ed him and said, "how does it feel now?" and continued watching Oprah. We chit-chat during the show and then I left for nephew's ballgame.

When I got home, he asked about the game and I was telling him the basics, because, remember, he gets distracted easily!!! I was telling him how nephew's grandmother and I felt like they weren't throwing the ball to nephew when they easily could and while I was talking, he leans over and starts talking to Molson about something on the dog's ASS!! I shut up, turned around in my chair and checked email. He tried to pick the conversation back up, but it wasn't happening.

I got up and went in the den to watch TV while he finished up working on the computer. He asked me while we were brushing our teeth why I was so quiet. I looked him dead in the eyes and told him I didn't have anything to say. He asked if it was because he had been ignoring me since he's been so busy. I said some, but mainly because you show me no respect and I'm tired of it.

We went to bed in silence.

He sent an email from work apologizing and telling me his side of it. In the email, he mentioned me shhh'ing him and how it made him feel. It wasn't as extreme as how I feel when he does it to me, but he now realizes some of the feeling. I was glad to know that!

I called him to talk about it because an email would be as long as this entry! :) He wants me to now point out to him when he's losing focus/attention during our conversations. That he's conditioned from work to get distracted by others or expect distractions that he's expecting them at home while we talk. I told him the only distraction at home would be the phone....and Molson if he comes in bleeding profusely! THERE ARE NO DISTRACTIONS AT HOME!! We laughed, we talked some more and have come to an understanding for now. Yes, we've had this conversation before. :)

In my opinion, it all comes down to respect and the lack of it demonstrated by BZ. I know there are times that I fall short in that category, too, but NOTHING like he does. As I pointed out to him, it's also just common courtesy, and you don't even give me that so many times.

During our phone conversation, I told him that I keep my stories short or just don't even tell him things because of his attention/interest span. I heard the gasp from his end when I said that. We'll see if this discussion makes a difference. The first wife did a shitty job training him!

Have a good one, Girls!

0 comments so far

Previously & Coming Up