Not what I had started, but an entry nonetheless

I'll just be damned. I had a damn good entry going about the kids being gone and having my house back, and I used a keystroke combination to delete a word that is good only for my court reporting software and lost the whole damn thing!! Motherfucker!

So anyway, yeah, they're home now and BZ is on his way back. And all is right again...for now. :)

My mom and I shopped around in "the birthplace of the King" yesterday. We had some good laughs and found some pretty good deals. She bought a sofa and I bought some dishes and other stuff.

We ate at the Olive Garden. DO NOT eat at that OG! We told them first available for seating, and after about a 10, 15 minute wait, we got a booth in the bar area. We were fine with it. After 20 minutes of NO service whatsoever, Mom went back and asked for another table and told them why. You should have seen the flurry of waiters, busboys, managers, and other insignificant others. We got our drinks and the cheesiest manager ever came over and squatted at the table...hate that!...and asked what could he do to make us happy right then. Mom said, bring us some food! He was a constant bother after that, but we did finally get served.

While sitting there, we watched the only bartender waiting on the people at the bar who were eating, and occasionally she would walk by and tell us "be right with you, ladies." Mom figured it out and I think she's right. Bartender was pissed that she was by herself doing double-duty, so she was showing management that she needed some help. Well, by golly, she got it.

After Mom complained, there were managers and waiters all over us and the other three tables. And the cheesy manager kept stopping by, too.

My entree was okay...the beef medallions were tough. I just pushed them to the side and ate the pasta. Lord knows, I was full off breadsticks and spinach dip! The bartender stopped by and commented about me not eating the steak and I told her it was okay, just tough. Ohhhhh, let me tell the manager. Me: NO! That's okay. Her: Oh, no, we have to tell the management. I'm guessing she doesn't like cheesy manager either.

So here comes cheesy manager and is doing his damnedest to get me to order another entree and I can take it home. No, no thanks. Really. Appreciate it, but no thanks. Seriously, I'll put it in writing, NO THANKS! He finally got the hint. He did take my meal off the ticket, but later while Mom and I were talking about it and laughing, we realized we wouldn't have received a thing for the unfortunate experience, not even a complimentary dessert!

If we do go back there, we will definitely request first available in the dining room! By the time we left, bartender had plenty of help in there with her. We overheard her say that other days she has a server to help, but not on Saturdays. I think she proved her point this Saturday!

An update on the diet venture...I haven't started yet. :) I really screwed up and jumped the gun on joining when I did. I should have waited for THIS week to join when the kids were gone and I wouldn't have to worry with their meals, too. I don't see how a mother can follow a diet with small kids to tend to, also, unless she's on meth! :) So anyway, I have halfway started today, but really intend to follow it tomorrow. My new scales haven't made it here yet, so I'm still not sure what the actual beginning weight is. Scared as hell to really know, too!

The past couple of days with no foot pain has been wonderful!! If nothing else motivates me to do something, that alone will do it! When we moved to MS in '03, I was just starting to have foot pain in one foot. Since then, I have added many pounds to the frame, and the foot pain has grown right along with me! I know I'll never be as skinny as I would like to be, but I'll at least be able to walk around without being sore everywhere!! That's my goal.

Have a good one, Girls!

1 comments so far

junkmel1 - 2006-01-08 14:54:26
Oooooh,I know that damn keystroke, too. It does make me cuss!!
-------------------------------

Previously & Coming Up