The calmness after the storm...but wait, one more wave!

We had complete meltdown here yesterday. I realized last night that each visit ends up with one huge blowup/big punishment/child crying-me screaming episode and then all is well. It usually happens in the last week of the kids' visit. This time it happened in the second week.

I can't really say it was one big thing that happened. I think it was just a combination of the constant time-outs/grounding from toys/occasional pop on the behind that brought it all to a head.

My new word for this visit is "rules." I am constantly asking them "do you do this at Mommy's house?" I get a no to that question, and I follow it with we have the same rules here! But I swear to you they act like two monkeys at the zoo! When I correct the oldest one, he looks away and even tries to WALK away. If he only knew the type of upbringing I had!! That was a big no-no!!

So anyway, after umpteen million times of telling them no, stop, don't jump on the furniture, don't run your cars into or on the walls, etc, yesterday's frustration scene took me over the edge.

S1 was playing basketball with BZ and ran after the ball into the yard and slipped and got the knees of his jeans dirty. He came in the house huffing and puffing and slamming the bedroom door. I could hear him saying something in that whiny-crying type voice. I opened his door and asked what was the problem. In that same whiny-crying voice, he told me that he's all dirty from slipping down. I told him it was okay, no big deal. I then got the eye roll with a whiny grunt and I popped him on the behind and told him get in the bed, you're not going back outside. I got another sound of disaggreement from him, but just left the room instead of drop kicking him to the other side of the house.

I swear, this happens E.V.E.R.Y. visit. I let them get by with stuff, do the light punishment and they just keep doing the same thing over and over and over.

BZ came in and he walked in S1's bedroom to see why he was crying and I heard him tell BZ cinzel made me get in the bed; I don't know why. Ohhhhhhh, the blood was still racing. BZ heard "my side" and you know what he did? Told S1 "well, you just stay in here and think about it." Huh?

I realize he does not want to be the bad guy since he only sees them basically six weeks total out of the year. But doesn't he understand that he's making me be the wicked stepmother here? BZ can easily block out what's going on around him when the TV or Playstation is on. He's not paying the first bit of attention to them while they attempt to tear up the house, and that drives me insane!!

After a much needed nap for S1, BZ talked with him and things seem much, much better. I just wish we could start our visits on this note instead of having to go through all the yelling and crying.

The basement in their house in Canada is made up of their bedrooms and a den. It seems that that's where they stay and rip and romp. Obviously there is nothing down there to tear up I'm guessing. I had to point out to them that we don't have a basement here!

And then to top the night off, at 11:45 last night, S1 wakes us up to say that S2 has thrown up in the bed. I kept my fat actress right there in that bed and let BZ deal with it. He ended up having to change the sheets and get another pillow. I did get up when I heard S2 in the bathroom getting sick again. I was up two more times with him, but I made damn sure BZ woke up as I got out of bed. :) Yes, I did it on purpose!

S2 seems to be feeling somewhat better. We're guessing it was the chicken strip from Wal-mart's deli that did it. That was the only thing he had different from us at dinner. I'm keeping my fingers crossed that's what it was so S1 doesn't catch it! I've got to get in their room and find the source of that putrid smell though. BZ didn't get everything out of there that got contaminated last night and it stinks!

Have a good one, Girls!

0 comments so far

Previously & Coming Up