Just how many cameras are on you?

I'm in a civil trial from HELL!!! It's a truly sad case and one that the victims should get some money out of, but as usual, lawyers and expert witnesses tend to run that amount to infinity.

Seven young boys were touched inappropriately by a male teacher. Their lawyers say the school did not act soon enough and did not contact police. The teacher's criminal trial was several years ago and he is in the state pen where he is probably LOVING the fringe benefits, ifyaknowwhatImean!

I've never dealt with this issue on any levels, thank goodness!!, so I'm having a difficult time accepting that these kids (they were in the sixth grade when it happened and are now 17-18) will need therapy, medicine, hospital stays, etc. for the rest of their lives! Unfortunately, the majority of these kids are from families that depend on the government for a living, have parents and siblings in prison, or have had parents murdered. Most of them were traumatized before the touching incidents. Again, it's a truly sad case.

We've been hearing this case for two days now and will probably be listening to it for another two days. Pray for me?? :) During this time, I'm becoming a TV star. For two days my big round face has been plastered on the local news...ewwwww!! I try my damnedest to keep a straight face while in court. I now see it looks like I am totally disgusted with my surroundings. I'm also looking for a new spot to sit in the courtroom so I won't be in view of any camera!!

Yesterday's clip was when we had just come back in from a break. I sit down, adjust the machine in front of me and then you see me CHEW!!! Shit, fat girls should never chew on TV! I screamed and told BZ I don't remember chewing gum in the courtroom! Then I remembered it was a mint. Still, not good. You then see me turn to mark an exhibit and BZ says I rolled my eyes. I would describe it as a little eye stretch/exercise myself. :) I must work on my poker face.

My TV debut reminds me of the Friends episode where they're watching home movies of Ross and Monica, when Monica was fat. She comments that the camera adds ten pounds and Chandler says, just how many cameras were on you? I only saw that one through the glass window of the door at the back of courtroom, but I swear there had to be at LEAST ten cameras somewhere in that room!!!

Every morning I'm telling myself there will be a five o'clock today. I refuse to watch the clock during this trial because I know it would drive me nuts...and I would need treatment for the rest of my life!!

Have a good one, Girls!

2 comments so far

junkmel1 - 2005-10-20 07:57:00
I smell an appeal. Do you? Sniff sniff...yeah, I defintely smell an appeal.
-------------------------------
Shear-Madnez - 2005-10-20 08:13:34
We had a teacher like that here. He is out of prison now. *sigh* He wasn't ever supposed to come back to our county, but I've seen him around numerous times. I'm so angry that these kids might run into him.
-------------------------------

Previously & Coming Up