No worries

I'm pretending this weekend that I have no obligations, deadlines, responsibilities and it's GREAT!! Last night, BZ and I watched Be Cool with John Travolta. I'd give it a three out of five, mainly because I love me some John Travolta!! Damn, he's good lookin'!! I liked Get Shorty and this was very similar. We watched Million Dollar Baby last weekend, and it was pretty damn good!! I would highly recommend that movie!

Today, I went out to the sportsplex to watch a nephew play baseball. It seems that my eight-year-old nephew is a little scared of the ball when at bat. He's at the age now where the kids are pitching and I must say, I'd be a little scared, too!! He's been hit a few times and is just gun-shy. His parents (my brother) are about to tie a knot in him though. For the last several games, he all of a sudden has a headache or something that prevents him from batting when it comes his turn. He finally did go to the plate this afternoon, but he cried the whole time he stood there. I felt sorry for him, but then again, he will forever be afraid of the ball if he doesn't get in there and swing. He stayed in the batter's box, but he never took a swing. I thought my brother was going to go through the fence!!

My personal opinion? ...and no, dammit, no one's asked for it!! ...I think he's just tired of it and is ready for a break, but his mom seems to think she's got a major league contender. I just hate to see parents push their kids too hard, and I think that's the case here. But that's just my opinion.

It looks like the coastal folks are in for another rip-roaring time. Once again, I hate the devastation, but, man, could I go for some wind and even a little rain right now!! It's just stinkin' hot up here!!

Have a good one, Girls!

1 comments so far

junkmel1 - 2005-08-28 08:23:38
What's the word up there, weatherwise??? Got Mom and OB a room in Jackson, hoping that's far enough inland...
-------------------------------

Previously & Coming Up