Love my country

BZ and I watched Frontline last night. It was about our favorite and most convenient shopping spot. Yep, the Wal-mart! I know there are many people who HATE the Wal-mart and even refuse to go there. I realize they put a lot of people out of business. One thing I didn't realize was how cutthroat they are with their suppliers.

The show talked about how at one time the manufacturer set the price for the product. Not any more, not since the Wal-mart came into existence. The Wal-mart sets the price and if it can't be met, then the Wal-mart goes abroad for the cheaper product, aka, China.

I'm probably the last person on the "slow boat to China," but I've just never heard or read about the Wal-mart's practices until now.

Don't read me wrong here...I am NO activist of any sort. But I will say it did open my eyes. I will still shop there, but I'll be looking to see where the stuff was imported from!

So that's how BZ and I spent our evening. BZ then started packing for our trip and I called Mom. I've never heard the likes of slam-bamming doors and drawers like he was doing!! And the huffing and puffing up and down the hallway!!! What's up with that?!?!

BZ and I have a large walk-in closet that we share...okay, he has a spot in there. :) When I do laundry, I spread it out on the guest bed and fold it and leave it, except my stuff. I don't mind doing laundry, hanging it out, and most of the time folding it, but I'll be damned if I'm putting his stuff up! He's quite capable on his own and that way he'll know where everything is! I'm guessing all the hallway racing was going back and forth from our bedroom to the guest bedroom gathering clothes..who knows.

My 25-year-old nephew is in Iraq with the National Guard. Mom said he called this past Sunday, which he often does because he knows we gather there for Sunday lunch. He said that things are fine, but hot!! Mom asked how hot..he said one day it got to 146.2. Huh? He told her it's like opening the oven door and stepping in. I couldn't do it. Love my country, but I need climate control!! He was activated last August, sent to Camp Shelby and then deployed in January '05. They were told they would be there for 18 months. He said there's rumors that they'll start packing up in August and September and heading home. Please, Dear God, let it be so!! He is my sister's son who died in 1986 from a car wreck. He was seven at the time. My mother would REALLY like for him to come home early!

I've got a few errands to run today, one of which is that China-lovin' Wal-mart!! I sit here instead sippin' coffee and thinking of things to type. We aren't leaving until this afternoon when BZ gets in from work, so I'm thinking why rush?? :)

I made some jewelry yesterday, mainly for outfits I'm taking on this trip. The one I made with the dangling flowers and colored discs and faceted rounds BZ told me looked like a little girl. His opinion doesn't count on that one. It's summery and fun and tinkly. :) ..and I'm wearing it, dammit! I then got to thinking...I'll be going in these bead stores...they may look at the jewelry I'm wearing/have made...is it worthy of letting another beader look at?!?!?! Crazy I know, but still!!

I have a feeling I'm going to miss updating while I'm gone, but I'll try to keep a running tab on our days away. I keep telling myself to let him be in control and things will go a lot smoother!! Plus, that way it will fall back on him and not me!! :)

Have a good one and see y'all later!

0 comments so far

Previously & Coming Up