Life as a pet owner

I'm going to take a whack at the dead horse. I watched the Jackson verdict and also the jury interview afterwards. My interpretation is that they believe he is a child molester, but not with that kid. The DA had a bad victim...it happens and it's frustrating!! He definitely dodged a bullet this time.

BZ and I have a year and a half old yellow Lab. His full name is Colonel Molson Golden. We call him Molson. (Molson Golden is a Canadian beer; my husband's Canadian...and a beer drinker)
Anyway, like all labs, he LOVES to play, run, roam and other dogs. There is a dog across the street, a Rottweiler, named Maggie. During Maggie's last "in heat" session, I thought the other male dogs hovering around had gone prison on my dog, but they didn't. One of them had bitten him on the ass though!! Strange feeling thinking your dog has been violated...can't imagine what I'd do if it was a child!!

So anyway again, BZ tosses out treats when Molson's "friends" come over...Maggie being one of them. Saturday morning she showed up and ended up spending the night on our front porch. At 5 a.m., something disturbed her and she started barking. Front porch is RIGHT beside our bedroom. Not good. She finally went home sometime Sunday night, but has been back every morning since then. BZ caught her in the house eating Molson's food. Cracked me up listening to him trying to get her out and save the food!!

Maggie is camped out at our back door. Before all this, Molson would sit at the corner of our house watching her yard, waiting for movement. When he saw her, he was GONE!! Now that she's always here, he doesn't want anything to do with her. Oh, he'll still go out and sniff...so glad humans don't have that trait!!...but right now, he's laying at my feet under my desk. I just love it when he lays on my transcriber pedal and advances my tape!!!

So, like a typical male, once the female accepts him and starts hanging around, he wants nothing to do with her. He's a funny dog.

We leave on our trip tomorrow and I really, really want to take him with us. I know he'll be fine and we'll have a better time, but there's that attachment factor that's hard for me to get over right now. It's a good thing I don't have kids...I'd never leave their side!

I found another bead store that is right on our trail before we hit Indy. It's 4,000 sq. feet of beads!! I want that to be our first stop. BZ wants the speedway to be our first stop. I hope this is not our first fight!! I may have to pull out the Sweet Potato Queen secret and "promise" him a BJ. :) We are a connivin' bunch, aren't we??

Have a good one!

0 comments so far

Previously & Coming Up