Cake batter is good

My mother made a cake a couple of weeks ago and I'll be damned if I can stop thinking about it and all the possibilities.

The one she made was a lemon bundt cake. Very simple. It's a boxed cake mix, whichever you prefer, prepared as directed and then you add a can of icing, preferrably the same flavor or close to the cake mix.

I made one using the dark chocolate cake mix and chocolate icing. The batter is to die for!! The cake was very, very moist, almost like fudge. My nephew called it the turd cake, in a loving way though. :)

I passed on the recipe to junkmel who had many doubts about the whole thing because for some strange/oddball reason, she thinks the canned icing is too sweet! HUH? She brags about her sugar addiction, but she can't hang with ole sweet tooth here. :)

If she had time, she would update that her creation was somewhat of a disaster. She tried to make cupcakes with her mix and, well, they tend to puff up pretty good while baking and she had quite a mess of overflowed cupcakes. They liked what they were able to dig out of the cups, but ended up throwing everything away, pan and all. Told ya to use a bundt pan. :)

So anyway, now that I've updated for junkmel, let me finish mine...I have a spice cake mix and cream cheese frosting that is sitting in my pantry and I'm fighting myself HOURLY not to get in there and make it. I mainly want to mix it up so I can eat the batter!! How sad is that!??!!! But I'm telling you, it's good. It's real good.

It's raining here today and all I want to do is get in that kitchen and cook. None of it healthy either.

Have a good one, Girls!!

0 comments so far

Previously & Coming Up