Happenings

I spent the majority of yesterday at the hospital. The first time I went in to see my dad, it was tough. He looks good, but just seeing all the tubes and hoses everywhere just caused a lump in my throat. Each visit got a little better. The doctor is encouraged by the little progress he's making. They're telling us that he's still not out of the woods yet and we realize that. We keep telling ourselves that it's going to take time...a lot of time. Once again God is giving me another opportunity to practice my patience. Isn't he sneaky?? :)

In between visits I did a little work and listened to the people around me. It's easy to get caught up in their conversations while you wait on time to pass. I got tickled at one family. It was the mother of the patient and either a girlfriend or wife of the patient. They sat there "discussing" someone, about all the plastic surgery she's had and how it hasn't helped and she needs to stop and blah, blah, blah...I could become friends with these people! :)

When I went in for the 6:00 visit, I was by myself. It's hard to describe the feeling I have. Standing there looking at my dad, it's almost like the old dad is back. He just seems so relaxed and calm and stress-free. Over the years, my dad has changed due to alcohol and personality I guess. We've all seen it and wished for the old dad back. I keep telling myself that when he wakes up, more than likely it still won't be my old dad. We really don't know who we're going to have when he wakes up.

Thanks for your note, griz. Sometimes being an adult is really no fun.

* * * * * * *

The nephews are going to be staying with us this weekend. Their parents, my brother and his wife, were going to go to Birmingham to shop, but have now decided to stay home. The boys were excited to be staying here and asked if they could anyway. "Well of course!" The oldest one is really sweet and loves video games. The youngest loves sweets...a kid after my own heart!!

After school, the youngest (11) stays with my mom until one of his parents can pick him up. They've been baking and cooking when he gets in. My mom said he'll call her on his cell from the bus asking what does she want him to cook/bake. He'll then call one of his parents and tell them not to be in a rush to pick him up; Meme wants him to cook something. :) I plan on testing those culinary skills this weekend.

Have a good one, Girls!

0 comments so far

Previously & Coming Up