Where have y'all been??

Hi all!

I'm still existing...bitchin' about work, weight and whatever else. Things have happened around here in the past 30 days, one in particular that breaks my heart and others just blah.

About four weeks ago, first day of a court term, I was leaving for lunch and checked my voice mail. My mom had left a message and when I heard her say my name, I knew immediately something was wrong. Mothers, at least mine, has a certain voice for tragic news, and she was using it with good reason.

In the message she told me that there had been an awful accident...my sister-in-law's father had accidently shot her mother, his wife. SIL is married to my brother and she is EXTREMELY close to her mother. Extremely.

To say I was numb doesn't do it justice. To imagine what my SIL was going through was unfathomable. I called my mom back and found out for sure that SIL's mother had died instantly. It's still really hard to grasp that.

SIL's father said that he was leaving the house to go hunt and was walking through with a 12-gauge shotgun. As he was coming up on SIL's mom, who was at the computer, he tripped/blacked out/not really sure, but the gun discharged and shot her under her arm.

I know accidents happen. I know that there are some really freaky accidents, this being one of them. But I can't help but have some nagging doubts. Working in criminal court really doesn't help those doubts!

A couple of weeks ago, my nephew had his last football game. SIL's mom went to every one of them, traveling hours sometimes to be there. The last game of the season and my nephew scored his first touchdown. When my mom told me that, I got the biggest lump in my throat and couldn't talk. Afterwards, I had a complete meltdown thinking about SIL's mom and how unfair all this is. She wasn't finished living yet! She loved her grandsons and her daughters like you wouldn't believe!! It's just not fair.

We've had tragedy in our family before and I know time really does heal. The beginning of the healing process is just really difficult.

Part of why I haven't updated is that story. Everytime I sat down to update, that was the only thing running through my head and I guess I just wasn't ready to write about it.

* * * * * * *

On the weight front, I still haven't reached the 10 pound mark. Sucky. For the most part, I have stuck with it. Even though I'm eating within my points, I could be making some better food choices. Yuck. See, I'm not a fruit and vegetable kinda gal. I'm your meat and taters kind. :) ..and toss me that cornbread!!

So the other day I bought a bag of oranges and thankfully they're quite tasty. This is my third day to have a fruit. Rah, rah.

I'm on a soup recipe search now. With the cooler temps, soup just really sounds good to both of us. BZ made goulash the other night and we've both enjoyed that. I'm going to try an enchilada soup today.

On the exercise front, it's desolate. I've got to get self motivated to move, but self is really hard-headed. :)

On the work front, it's pretty steady around here. Luckily the appeals have been spaced out pretty good. And when I say that, I mean that when I finish one, I get to start another one. But at least they're not all due at the same time.

We start our last term of the year next week. The first day's a holiday...gotta love that!! The second day is "all the defendants show up for court" day. I'll be back in a jury room working on transcripts since they use our courtroom as a makeshift jail. That leaves Wednesday, Thursday, and Friday for actual court stuff. The next week is only two days since Thanksgiving is in that one. Hurrah!! The last two weeks will be pure hell, but I think I can hang on for ten days. No, I will not place a bet on that!

So there's my life. Most days I'm going through the motions, but I'm slowly in the back of my mind beginning to get a grasp and starting to feel a change coming on. Maybe it's the weather, maybe it's for real. Hell, my luck it's the beginnings of menopause.

Have a good one, Girls!!

0 comments so far

Previously & Coming Up