My husband's a dumbass..oh, right, it must be my fault

Yesterday morning was a typical weekend morning around here. BZ and I lounged in bed until Molson was crawling all over us and whining wanting to go outside and play. BZ always cooks french toast on weekends and Molson gets the trimmed crust from the bread. He loves it and knows when it's the weekend since BZ is still in bed.

We got up and while BZ took Molson for a run, I chopped veggies for my omelet and cleaned the kitchen. They got back. I cooked my omelet and fixed my coffee. BZ started his breakfast.

Here's where my mood shifted for the rest of the day.

We have a smooth cooktop stove. I used the front one on the right. BZ ALWAYS uses the back left one. We have lights around the knobs WARNING you which spot is still hot/warm. BZ sets the bread, wrapped in plastic, where I just finished cooking my omelet. I didn't notice it since I was in the dining room. He was running all over the kitchen trying to do 95 things at once as usual. When he does realize it, of course the plastic has melted and guess what he says....why did you use this one? I stopped cold in my tracks and looked him in the eye and said, you're blaming me for this??? I.WAS.LIVID.

I told him I ALWAYS use that element, and you WATCHED me cook my omelet just seconds ago!!! I finished my breakfast in silence. Briefly looked his way when he said, oh, look, I did it again, which he had laid something else on top of that spot. Dumbass. I never said a word. I heard him say, oh, that's how it's going to be. I thought, you damn right! How dare you blame me for your stupidity!!

About 20 minutes or so later, he came in here in the computer room and apologized. I then started talking to him again. I asked him why he does that, why does he immediately lay fault on someone else when it's clearly his fault. He didn't have a good answer.

I don't know why it hit me the way it did. Reading this I'm sure it seems trivial to y'all. I guess it's just been building over time and that was it. BZ is good about saying something somewhat harsh and then when I react, he starts up with, oh, I was just joking. Bullshit. I don't play that way!

I had to get that off my chest and out of my head...thanks.

Have a good one, Girls!

0 comments so far

Previously & Coming Up