Law & Order...reality style

Yesterday was a fun day in court. On the docket we had Tatoo Man (including teardrop tatoos under both eyes) trying to quash an indictment charging him with burglary of a dwelling because the sheriff's department took pictures of the panties and then gave them back to the "victim" and she threw them away. Hence, no evidence. He broke into a woman's trailer and she found him asleep in her bed with two pair of panties in his pocket. She said they were hers. He said two women in a bar gave him their panties voluntarily the night before. Good thing he looks good in orange with all those green tatoos.

We had a sentencing of a woman for false pretense with priors, meaning she was going to serve some time. Her lawyer told us she was downstairs eating her breakfast and left to get her. Lawyer came back without a client. She couldn't find her. A bench warrant for her arrest was taken. She showed up later and got two years. Guess the coffee kicked in, huh?

A 59-year-old man charged with multiple counts including burglary tried to convince the judge that the reason he didn't show up last term for his trial was because his lawyer told him to meet him at his office at 10 in the morning. His lawyer was at the courthouse, standing in front of the judge and jury with no defendant at 9 o'clock. The defendant knows the drill and knew where he was supposed to be come 9 o'clock. Orange looked good on him, too.

We then had a motion to suppress a confession of a 20 something man who's charged with sexual battery of a child. He's been tested and the doctors agree that he's mildly mentally retarded, but is competent to stand trial and help with his defense. He's also competent enough to hold a job and get a driver's license and to insert his fingers into a 22-month-old girl and "then things got out of hand." The baby was taken to the hospital and was ripped between her vagina and rectum. He is REALLY going to look good in orange!

See, such a fun day in court.

****************************************

We're going to have to dissolve the friendship between Molson and Maggie. They are roaming too much and too far and Molson is becoming way too aggressive with other dogs we noticed. His running free days are going to be extremely limited now. I hope to catch Maggie's owners out in their yard this weekend and mention to them how these two are going off way too far and jumping on other dogs. Hopefully they'll agree to keep a better eye on Maggie. I know one of their sons was keeping up with her pretty good, but I haven't seen him around lately. Molson will either be on a leash or on the chain for a while, and I'll be bringing up the "getting fixed" subject again!

On the diet front, things are going well. I'm not bored with it, and it's beginning to settle into this thick skull that this isn't such a bad lifestyle change. I'm slowly learning to pick up some fruit instead of some chocolate and finding that it really does satisfy me and fill me up. Damn, those folks have been right all along!! :)

I ordered some cookbooks and fat gram counter book from Amazon and expect those early next week. I'm getting a kick out of learning how to cook low fat. Junkmel helped me with a sauce for pasta and grilled shrimp. I sauteed onion in a little olive oil and she suggested using chicken broth and some cornstarch to thicken it a little and then add lemon. It was right tasty. I also added a little white wine and red pepper flakes. BZ liked it but did mention that it may need more lemon. I think he was right and maybe could have gone for another spice like rosemary or something. It was good and I'll definitely be burning BZ out on that dish!!

I can tell my energy level is rising. I wouldn't say it's high, but it's certainly not as low as it was. I think I'll be incorporating some exercise for myself into Molson's new routine. I'll be in charge of taking him out in the mornings and forcing myself to walk then. Self is going to fight it I know, but it's got to be done!

Have a good one, Girls!

0 comments so far

Previously & Coming Up