Another day older and deeper in debt

BZ and I had "the talk" this weekend...the finance talk! We've had this talk thousands of times in the last year and a half and nothing gets done other than more debt piled on us. My little problem is that BZ skips off to work and leaves it to me to resolve via bank loan. I did EVERYTHING to get our mortgage loan. BZ never even met the loan officer, but was full of questions after I had seen her! The child in me wants him to take care of this, but that doesn't seem to be happening.

Funny how after listing expenses and deducting from your income how much money you have showing on that piece of paper compared to the actual amount in your bank account! Man, oh man, can we go through some money...okay, mainly me. I went back in our bank statements to April, May and June and added up the Wal-mart trips and Kroger visits. I was stunned, people! For two of us, plus dog, we spend almost $1,000 a month!! That is ridiculous!

I know one thing I do wrong is I don't make a list. I think I can carry all that info in my head and remember it once I'm there. Sometimes I do, most of the time I don't. I will be writing necessities down from now on.

As much as it's going to hurt my feelings to face this reality, I know it's got to be done and done NOW! Maybe organizing this area of my life will get me to organizing others, such as nutrition/exercise. I'm going to have to find something else to do other than surfing this internet for "deals!"

As I was writing all the above, I heard Molson eating his food in the kitchen. I then looked over and he was standing in the doorway and I could still hear the noise of dog food still being eaten out of the metal bowl. Maggie was helping herself!

I have been considering getting a Jack Russell Terrier. My dad has two and I just fell in love with them. We noticed when the boys were here during Christmas that Molson would get mighty jealous if one of them was in my lap. He even gets between me and BZ if we're close to each other. I'm guessing we're a one dog family right now.

Believe it or not, I'm somewhat excited about "tracking" our money now. I'll be curious to see how much we can really save this way. Two weeks into it I'll probably be doing some major bitchin'!

Have a good one, Girls!

0 comments so far

Previously & Coming Up