Scare number one

We had our first scare yesterday. As I was wasting time on the computer and BZ was in the den setting up his Dickens Village stuff, I heard stepson number two (S2) yelling outside for BZ and screaming. I heaved my fat actress out of this chair and headed for the backdoor yelling at BZ. S2 was on the ground while Molson and Maggie were all over him. My feet froze when I saw this but my mouth kept running! I was yelling for both dogs while BZ took off after S2. S2 was fine, not the first scratch, scrape..nothing. He was whimpering a bit and saying "I couldn't get back up." I, on the other hand, was shaking and having heart palpitations! Holy smokes, that scared the shit out of me!

We came inside and BZ handed S2 off to me and he fell asleep in my lap. While all this sounds traumatic and yes, it scared me, let me give you a description of what S2 does with these dogs.

S2 is five years old. His brother, S1, is seven...and is growing his hair long and wants it down to his chin and then only one eye showing and all the clothes I bought yesterday were black. Somebody's got a problem!

So anyway, S2 loves to stick his face in the dog's face and poke and prod and pull. Always has and I suppose always will. We are constantly telling him to leave the dog alone. We specifically told him when Maggie comes around, start walking towards the house, don't run; that she and Molson like to play fight and we don't want him to get caught up in it.

Now, granted I didn't see how it all started, but seeing past behavior, I have a strong suspicion that S2 was right in the middle of them, playing along with them and then it all got out of hand.

Last night after it was all over and he woke up from his nap, Molson was asleep on the floor, minding his own business, when I noticed S2 had BZ's slipper and was about to hit Molson on the head with it. I startled S2 when I called his name. He just smirked and put the slipper down. This morning as Molson was eating, S2 was trying to get nose-to-nose with Molson. He's just asking to be bit! I'm going to be on constant dog patrol around here.

Have a good one, Girls!

0 comments so far

Previously & Coming Up