NOT just another day of the week...

BZ has been waiting on his permanent resident card (green card) for about a year now. He and I went to Memphis and did the little interview thing last December, which was NOTHING like the movie Green Card with Andie McDowell and Gerard Depardieueiaoiue...whatever. They stamped his passport so he could cross the border without all the paperwork and told him his card should arrive anywhere from six weeks to six months. Gotta love the federal government, huh?

Well, now that it's almost time to cross the border to get the kids for the holidays, BZ decides it's time to check on that little card because the stamp in his passport expires on Dec. 8. Now, believe me, I have been reminding/asking/nagging him about this since the summer. Guess what fell on deaf ears?

So anyway, he goes online last night and makes an appointment with them on Dec. 1. He then calls a number and is on hold for a goooooood 30 minutes...thank you, speakerphone! That guy tells him that they don't have any record of his fingerprints. Whatthefuck?!?!! He's had at least three sets made since this process started. The woman even stamped his passport and approved him for permanent residency at the interview last year. Would she have done that without ALL the documents?? I don't think so.

So now for the real fun part. When he makes the appointment online, he has to skip the Nov. calendar because there were no open dates for appointments. He goes into Dec. and selects the 1st. This is where it gets screwy.

BZ had it in his head that we were going to Memphis Wednesday. Wednesday is the day. BZ got approval from boss to be off Wednesday. We're leaving for Memphis Wednesday. Wednesday it is.

This morning, we get up, get ready, gas up and off we go to Memphis on Wednesday. About an hour into the trip, thoughts are running around in my head and for some reason the show "My Name Is Earl" popped into my head...LOVE.THAT.SHOW. I was thinking about it and how much I love Tuesdays because that's when the show is on, but last night it wasn't because of the Biggest Loser finale...kinda like that show, too!...and then for some reason thought, wait a minute. Yesterday was Tuesday, tomorrow is Thursday, what the hell is today??? Tomorrow is the 1st, oh shit!

I freaked and startled BZ from the sun-beaming daze he was in and asked him when's Dec. 1st?? What's today?? Holy shit, your appointment's tomorrow!!!

Needless to say, he was more pissed than me. I finally had to tell him, let it go. There's nothing we can do about it. They don't take walk-ins any more. Luckily I was right at an exit and whipped that puppy around and back we came. I did drop him off at work. Can't wait to hear what he told everyone as to why he came in.

BZ freaked so much that he cussed his watch calendar and changed it to Dec. 1st. Why you ask? I have abso-fucking-lutely no idea. Later, I asked him why he cussed his watch, and he said the date's not changing like it's supposed to and then wondered why he had changed it to the 1st. One of us is going crazy.

We're going to attempt this all over again tomorrow. Thursday. The 1st. Wish us luck.

1 comments so far

Grizmom - 2005-12-01 16:39:21
OH.MY.GOSH!! I'm cracking up at your misfortune. Shame on me. But, hey, somedays just go like that. The watch-thing - now that's funny! Hope today went better for you!
-------------------------------

Previously & Coming Up