Day One

Two meals into it and so far so good! :) Today is Nutri System day. For breakfast, I ate the frosted shredded wheat cereal, plain. I'm not much of a cereal fan, especially when it's soaking in milk. Call me strange. I'd rather drink my milk. The cereal was good, hit the spot. I ate it slow while I was proofreading a transcript and purposely made it last longer than I normally would. I've had lots of water, which luckily for me I like. I have no problem getting my water in. For lunch, I'm eating the pasta with beef, pasta shells in a tomato sauce with chunks of beef. I remember this one from years back, and it's still good to me. I find that I start craving tomato based food when I diet, another oddity of mine.

Looking through the meal planner, I'm supposed to add foods to their foods, a dairy, a fat, a protein, etc. I have a feeling I'll flucuate using those. Today I'm not STARVING, so I'm just eating their food...plus, I didn't plan ahead and don't have stuff to add to the meals. :) I'm not real fond of fruit and vegetables, imagine that! Those will be the hardest to force down.

I find that the afternoons are my troubled times. When BZ calls in the afternoons to say he's on his way home, I find myself in the kitchen eating whatever I can find. I have not analyzed that one enough to find out why. I plan to go curving in the afternoons and maybe save my salad and snack for when I get back. I'll see how it works out this week.

I can't say that I'm really gungho about this. The feeling is more of "I've got to do this and, by damn, I will do this." I guess that's how you'd define determination, huh? With the weekends "off," I'm hoping that that will keep me from cheating during the week, but if I have some slips Monday through Friday, so be it. I know I'm only human. :)

There's more diet talk in this entry than I planned. :) I'm still sore from pulling weeds on Saturday. The curving helped me to stay out there as long as I did, but I obviously have plenty of areas to work on, like the back of my thighs!

We went over to Mom's yesterday for lunch...baked ham, potato salad, black-eyed peas, cream corn, cornbread. I know, nothing green. :) And peach cobbler with ice cream for dessert. It was all mighty tasty and I ate some of everything. BZ passed on the cobbler, not me! We sat around afterwards and talked while it rained buckets outside! Driving home was not much fun in all of that. We had tornado warnings out all over the place. And found out last night that one touched down here on the east side of town. No one was hurt, but messed up some buildings on campus and some mobile homes. I'm thankful we don't have to experience a full-blown hurricane, but the remnants of them aren't much fun either.

Back to the diet talk...unfortunately I'm one of those that goes through withdrawals when I first start a diet. I get the headaches and even get sleepy. I'm assuming from lack of sugar is the root of both of those effects. I'm not giving up my General Foods International Hazlenut coffee though. I thought I might, but I would have a TREMENDOUS headache if I cut out caffiene right now and right now, I need that little treat.

Have a good one, Girls!

1 comments so far

grizmom - 2005-09-27 00:34:33
Good luck to you! I support and admire you completely! Keep up the good work and remember one day at a time!
-------------------------------

Previously & Coming Up