Damn bird!

Three in a row...this is a record for me!

I just had to share my morning experience with y'all.

Have y'all ever seen Alfred Hitchcock's movie, The Birds? The scene where the actress (Melanie Griffith's mother whose name I can't remember except Tippi) is running while being attacked by birds? That was me this morning except I'm not that skinny, that blonde and there was only one bird and it wasn't chasing me, I was chasing it. See the similarities??

I leave the back door ajar so Molson can come and go as he pleases. If I close it all the way, he will bust through and there it stands gaping open. If ajar, he'll squeeze in and won't disturb the door. Funny creature. So anyway, I was in here updating like a good diarylander should do!!!! Yes, take the hint, Girls!! He busted through the door, but I was busy with my entry and forgot. Later, I heard a mighty loud chirping that I was hoping was coming from outside the door. No such luck. The damn bird was in the damn family room!!

I divert to tell you a little history about me and birds. Years ago, I went to the visitation of a high school classmate's funeral. While standing outside the funeral home, I was talking with some friends, a husband and wife. I was talking away and just happen to look at the wife who had a horrible look on her face. I felt something flutter around my ear and tried to wave it off. The husband put his hand on my shoulder and really started waving something off. I ducked and screamed and ran. Come to find out, it was a parrot!!!! It was trying to light on my shoulder!!!! Days later, my crazy aunt -- not certifiable, just oddball -- was reading that town's paper and saw a "lost bird" ad. She called them and told them they could find their bird outside that funeral home; that it tried to land on her niece!! I get the hibby-jibbies when I get close to birds now.

So back to this morning, I get the deadbolt key from the kitchen, open that door, open the front door, all the while bent over watching for that damn bird!! It moves into the dining room to one of the windows. I'm able to get into the family room to open that door. I go outside in my gown tail!!! and beat on the outside of the dining room window hoping that damn bird would "go to the light!!!!" I creep back in and look around, don't see anything or hear anything.

I start closing doors while ratting keys, knocking on countertops, beating on walls. I step into the hallway leading back to the bedrooms and the damn bird is in the guest bedroom!!!! I scream, grab the phone and run outside and call BZ. He's not at his desk and wouldn't have been any help if he had been, other than to laugh!! I go outside, again in gown tail!!!, and beat on that bedroom window. That just makes the damn bird fly to the other side of the room!!

I go out the front door, go into our bedroom door off the front porch and enter the hallway from that end, closing off doors to other rooms. I had already opened the kitchen door again and turned on the hallway light hoping the damn bird would again "go to the light!!!" I finally decided I better put a bra on for this little game and got dressed. When I came out, I was beating on the walls going down the hallway, ready for anything that came flying out of that room!!! Luckily nothing did. I quickly closed the bedroom door and the kitchen door leading outside. The bird did fly the coop, thank goodness!!!

That's the second time that has happened to me in this house. We either need a doggie door, or I'm going to have to get off my ass and close the door! Guess which one I'm voting for?? :)

0 comments so far

Previously & Coming Up