The truck gets new shoes and I need more Kleenex

It looks like January is turning into truck repair month. The dashboard was lit up like Christmas when I got in it the other night. That's the first time I've been back in the truck since getting the van in August. Don't miss it at all! She's getting new tires today and then on to the dealership to get hooked up to the machines. I hate car problems with a passion. This is when I wish I was Bewitched.

* * * * * * *

My dad was moved to our hometown hospital last week and is doing amazingly well. He still has the swallowing issue, but he's recognizing us and talking mostly normal.

When I was there Sunday along with my brother and his family, all our dad could talk about was farming...renting/buying more land, trading tractors. He was still involved in the farm, but before the stroke, he was leaving a lot of it up to my brother. Now it's like it was 15 years ago when he was in charge. Poor brother.

He was also stuck on a four-door yellow Jeep, asking my nephew and my sister-in-law if they wanted one. I told him we all did!! :) The hospital drove him to a nearby hospital for the swallow test Monday. On the drive home, he convinced one of the ambulance drivers to give him their cell phone. He called my brother and told him to go buy chittlin's (sp?) and get them ready; he was cooking that and hamburgers tonight. He then called the Jeep dealership and was trying to buy a Jeep. Luckily the general manager is from our hometown and knows the family and the circumstances.

After being scared about my dad's outcome, I am finding a lot of humor in all this because I know it is the result of the stroke. Right now, Daddy's not getting frustrated when things don't go his way, or at least I haven't seen it. I did notice that he's much calmer when he's talking. Before the stroke, many things would make him red-faced and agitated, which was just Daddy. But now, he's more relaxed and laid back. I don't know if it's medication or just a side effect, but we welcome it, that's for sure. I'm just trying to figure out how I can get that peace of mind without having a stroke!

* * * * * * *

BZ and I both have been hit by the bug this year. My guess is that oldest stepson brought something with him and shared it with us. Ours seems to be hanging on longer though. I am finding that the Mucinex is really, really helping. I also notice that it's like a dieuretic, too. I was down four pounds this morning!! I'm only three pounds from my pre-Christmas lowest.

Tonight I'll be driving over to join junkmel for the WW classes. My sister wants to join, too. I think it will be fun. Junkmel says it's a good group of folks. I wouldn't be joining the class if it wasn't for my sister and junkmel. I really don't like doing the classes by myself. For me, the buddy system helps.

Have a good one, Girls!!

0 comments so far

Previously & Coming Up