Page after page after page...

Appeal update: 1,125 pages. The money will be nice, but, damn, will it ever end?!?!!

I just finished the testimony of the second dog handler that was used. They "scented" a bloodhound by letting it sniff the shirt of the defendant and put the dog in the vicinity of the victim's home. The dog picked up the scent and took that handler through some hedges and into the back yard of the victim, went to the door of the carport and put its nose on the doorknob, which means that the dog wanted to go inside the house to follow the scent. That was also the door the defendant along with four others entered the house and beat the woman to death with a steam iron and then set fires throughout the house. It gave me chills when this lady testified and it made me a believer in bloodhounds!! She then took the dog around the house and he picked up another trail and took the handler to a trailer park where the defendant was living with his girlfriend!! Scary.

I know I've written about this trial before, but it just unnerved me so during it and now while I'm transcribing it. The woman was in her 70s and was completely defenseless against five young black males. They went in to rob, but were willing to kill if they were caught. What is wrong with humans?!?!!! The husband testifed that about $400 to $600 was missing from the house. The clean-up crew found over $18,000 that the wife had stashed around the house in different places. The husband wasn't even aware of all of it! Unfortunately the defendant only got life.

I went over to Mom's yesterday for lunch...roast, potatoes, carrots, string beans, rolls, and b-day cake (brother-in-law's). Mom and I drove over to a neighboring town to a huge furniture warehouse that we found out was closed, dammit, on Sundays!! But it was a nice drive, especially in Mom's new Ford Freestyle. I say it's in between a car and SUV, not too high, not too low. Pretty neat vehicle, but it's still a damn Ford. :) Not a Ford fan here. Been stranded by one before and hope to never give them another chance!

My mom had been driving "Old Blue", a 1992 Pontiac Booneville. She was telling everybody that it had as many miles on it as the Freestyle, which was 18,000. I was stunned!! She confessed Sunday that she had looked at it wrong, but did have one number right! Old Blue has 88,000 miles on her! Big difference, but still pretty damn good for a '92 model.

I'm headed back to the appeal. Maybe I'll have another update tonight with more pages, but don't wait up for me. :)

Have a good one, Girls!

0 comments so far

Previously & Coming Up